Home Page

Manor Leas Infant School

Video Controls
  • Search
  • Translate

Introduction to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

In the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) at Manor Leas Infant School, we want our children to be independent, active learners, to learn through play and exploration and to think about their work critically so next time they know how to be even more successful! The children will take their learning both indoors and outdoors, whatever the weather!


The children experience adult led play, teacher directed tasks and child initiated play. The staff teach the children the key skills they will need in their learning and the children transfer and apply those skills to their chosen activity. By observing the children at play, staff gain a thorough knowledge of the children’s strengths and areas to develop; staff can then support or extend the activity to ensure the children make the most progress possible and teach them their next steps.


The children play a key part in developing their learning. The children are taught to be independent and to get out their own resources and put them away again! They choose some of the topics we learn about and help us develop the classroom accordingly.


The staff record evidence of each child’s learning and experiences through Tapestry learning journal, which is a private and secure online site. Parents can see updates of their child’s learning, comment on it and also add experiences of learning that have occurred at home, which encourages home/school partnership. At the end of the EYFS year each child will receive a report on their progress over the year in the areas listed below. They will be given an attainment level (emerging or expected) in each area. The "expected" level is where a child is expected to be working at. A child that is "emerging" has not yet reached the expected level and staff will be putting additional support in place to support them.


The children learn through the three prime areas; Communication and Language (CL), Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED) and Physical Development (PD) and the four specific areas Literacy (Lit), Maths (M), Understanding the World (UW) and Expressive Arts and Design (EAD).


The following pages expand on what is taught in each of the areas. Should you have any further questions please don't hesitate to ask a member of staff.