Home Page

Manor Leas Infant School

Video Controls
  • Search
  • Translate

Introduction to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

In the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) at Manor Leas Infant School, we want our children to be independent, active learners, to learn through play and exploration and to think about their work critically so next time they know how to improve. The children will take their learning both indoors and outdoors, whatever the weather!


The children experience adult led play, teacher directed tasks and child initiated play. The staff teach the children the skills and the children transfer the skills to their chosen activity. Through staff observations of the children they can extend the activity to suit the child's ability and teach them their next steps.

The children play a key part in developing their learning. The children are taught to be independent and to get out their own resources and hopefully put them away again! They choose the topics and help us develop the classroom accordingly.


Each child will have their own Learning Journey which will contain evidence of their learning and experiences both at school and home. Parents are encouraged to add their own information on their child so that the Learning Journey becomes a home/school partnership. Parents are invited to discuss their child's progress at least twice a year at a Parent Information evening. Parents are also invited to attend meetings on supporting their child in school. At the end of the EYFS year each child will receive a report on their progress over the year in the areas listed below. They will also be given a attainment level ( emerging, expected or exceeded)  for each area. The "expected" level is what an EYFS child is expected to be working at. A child that is "emerging" has not yet reached the expected level and a child that is "exceeded" is working above the expected level.


The children learn through the three prime areas; Communication and Language (CL), Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED) and Physical Development (PD) and the four specific areas Literacy (Lit), Maths (M), Understanding the World (UW) and Expressive Arts and Design (EAD).

The following pages expand on what is taught in each of the areas. Should you have any further questions please don't hesitate to ask a member of staff.